Clean Eating: The Newbie Mom’s Take

I’m a little over 2 weeks into a shift to clean eating in my household. I had been researching it for a few months so when a friend ran a 30 day challenge it seemed like the perfect chance. I had hoped to transition our family to 75% clean eating (allowing for processed cheese and some premade bread, etc) but going hardcore 100% clean for 30 days seemed like the perfect way to jump in. Here are some things i’ve learned so far:

1. It’s hard. It takes alot of effort to plan meals and i’m probably spending an extra hour or so a day in the kitchen since i’m making everything from scratch.

2. You must educate yourself. Sugar has a dozen names and it is hiding in the most unneccesary places possible at the grocery store. Avoiding all added sugar means not just learning the names but alot of time reading ingredients even to buy something as simple as natural peanut butter (I had no idea I would have to mix and refrigerate that by the way, live and learn, but it’s delcious!).

3. It can be a little more expensive. My weekly grocery bill jumped by about $30 BUT in all fairness that kind of comes out in the wash since eating out is next to impossible so we are really eating all but maybe one meal a week at home where we used to eat out around 3 times a week (counting breakfast, lunch and dinners).

4. It is worth it. It really is. We have more energy, i’ve lost 10 lbs in 2 weeks, basically all from my waist and thighs, and most importantly I feel great about what i’m feeding my family. I know i’m not filling them with chemicals or sugars and we are already healthier for it.

produce

Leave a Reply

